Rita levi-Montalcini. A life with neurons

Academy member Pietro Calissano recalls the figure of the illustrious scientist in a recently published book. ‘I asked myself often whether it would have been interesting, or at least useful, to trace a profile of Rita in a less conventional way than those released on mass media and even on books during the last years. These…


Academy member Umberto Mosco nominated Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

Umberto Mosco, Harold. J. Gay Chair Professor of Mathematics at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, has been nominated Fellow of the American Mathematical Society for his contributions to analysis and partial differential equations, in particular for introducing a theory of variational convergence. With this important recognition expresses the appreciation of the American Mathematical Society for relevant…


“We can defend ourselves from earthquakes”. The new book by Giuliano F. Panza

The volume presents the neo-deterministic approach, based on geophysics and available information, that allows one to define vulnerability to earthquakes. It was developed by an international group of seismologists directed by Giuliano F. Panza. Intended for engineers, geologists, professionals in construction and managers of public assets, the volume explains clearly what the neo-deterministic method is…


The achievements of Luigi Dadda honored with an IEEE Milestone

An IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Milestone, the prestigious international recognition of technological innovation and excellence in the IIEE areas of interest, was awarded to the invention of the innovative high-speed multiplier by Luigi Dadda, deceased in 2012.  Luigi Dadda published in 1965 the first description of an optimized scheme for a digital…


Academy member Carlo Doglioni is the new President of INGV

Carlo Doglioni, professor of Geodynamics at the Earth Sciences Department of Sapienza University of Rome, was nominated President of the Italian National Institute of Geophysics and Vulcanology (Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, INGV). Doglioni, a scholar of structural geology, tectonics and its applications to the seismic risk, also plays a role in the promotion…


Gauss-Newton Medal to Academy member Bernhard Schrefler

The International Association for Computational Mechanics (IAMC) Gauss Newton Congress Medal, the highest award given by IAMC, has been assigned to Academy member Bernhard Schrefler. The Medal honors scientists who have made outstanding, sustained contributions in the field of computational mechanics over substantial portions of their professional careers. The Medal carries the image of Newton…


Mauro Ferrari and Douglas C. Wallace elected Foreign Academy members

Mauro Ferrari, president of the Houston Methodist Research Institute (Texas, USA), PhD in Mechanical Engineering at the University in California in Berkeley, is the founder of biomedical nano/micro-technology, with special attention to drug delivery and applications and to other innovative therapeutic modalities. Among the most recent results of his research group, published in the most…


Gilberto Artioli and Carlo Barbante elected National Members

Gilberto Artioli is professor of Mineralogy at the University of Padua. His research activity is dedicated to a large extent to the combined use of diffractometric and spectroscopic techniques for the study of complex natural and synthetic materials. The application of these techniques is directed toward numerous industrial materials as testified by recent studies on…


SISS Award to Emilia Chiancone

Emilia Chiancone premiata dalla Società Italiana di Storia della Scienza

Emilia Chiancone was assigned the 2015 lifetime achievement award of the Italian Society for the History of Science (Società Italiana di Storia della Scienza, SISS).

The award ceremony took place in Bologna on December 17th, 2015 at the Scuola Superiore di Studi Umanistici. (in the picture, prof. Raffaella Simili, President of the Società Italiana di Storia della Scienza and prof. Emilia Chiancone.